My Top 5 Children’s/Young Adult Writers. Inspiration is the word tonight.

Heya guys 🙂 I’m back for blog number five (oh God, is it six actually, I lose count!) and today I’ll be talking about my favourite children’s/young adult writers. Why? Easy….. because without them, I wouldn’t have penned ‘The Black Rainbow Slayer.’

Now, I’m not saying they were round my house, having cups of tea and breaking biscuits while they cheered me on with my novel, (although, spending an afternoon like that would be amazing) I’m saying that I have enjoyed the work of these authors so much that all of them have become role models. It’s not enough to be a talented author in this business. They have taught me that having dreams is not naïve.

They have shown me that with passion, determination and a damn good novel you can reach for the stars and get there. Every day, I think about all these people in a sense because even though they’re really not hanging out drinking tea in my room and spurring me on with their voices, they encourage me – just – for being them.

1. Anthony Horowitz: The ‘Stormbreaker’ series inspired me to write when I was at school. I was reading these books constantly, usually when I was on the bus, waiting for the teacher to come into the classroom or sometimes even walking in the street lol and writing villains, well, he’s got one of the prizes for that. What dialogue. Does anyone remember, ‘Come in, Alex. Sit down. Have a biscuit and let me tell you how I’m going to kill you.’

2. Darren Shan: His vampire series inspired me to write when I was at school and I remember being so engrossed in the library that I never wanted break to end. Me and some friends actually pretended to be Darren, Steve and some Vampaneeze for a drama project! I was obsessed with Darren v Steven, still am, and I’m sure we even made a pretend stake at the time as well.

3. J.K. Rowling: Her ‘Harry Potter’ series has been such an inspiration for me during the writing of ‘The Black Rainbow Slayer.’ Anyone who knows me is aware I am obsessed with Harry Potter and it all began with one woman’s captivating idea of a boy with a lightning shaped scar. I was lucky enough to meet her two years ago on my last day working as a Tour Interactor at ‘The Harry Potter studios, London.’

4. Malcolm Rose: His ‘Traces’ series was always an inspiration, especially book one when the main character Luke was framed! Since reading them, I have been in contact with the author over email and he has been so kind about my book.

5. Lemony Snicket: His ‘Series of Unfortunate Events’ has been a real inspiration for me because I was reading this series in secondary school and beyond. The characters were so dark and yet there were comedic moments as well. I like to capture this in my own work.

Through reading their series, through immersing myself inside their words, I have collected something from them all: Motivation. Of course it’s essential for me to like the books in general, but for me, you have to be so much more than an amazing author to get in a top 5, you have to be an inspiring person. Every one of those people ticks these boxes, and you can tell this from their works as they spend an extensive time researching.

Anthony Horowitz goes on various trips and does all the things Alex gets up to in the books so he gets an authentic voice. (I half climbed a little tree for mine, hardly life changing lol) Malcolm Rose and Darren Shan visit schools and do talks, boosting children’s love for books. Lemony Snicket (well, he’s a mysterious one but his series was fantastic, so we’ll let him off) J.K. Rowling went to Scotland and found a little café called ‘The Elephant Cafe’ , also finding certain graves with now-familiar names, ‘Riddle’ and even on a trip to Kew Gardens saw a plant called ‘Hogwarts.’

I’m drying up here, so I’ll say goodbye in a minute but really? I just want to say thanks, guys. If any of you ever read this, thanks for making me inspired enough to be here seven years later with a novel that still has another two books to go after editing the first! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

7 thoughts on “My Top 5 Children’s/Young Adult Writers. Inspiration is the word tonight.

  1. Hey Rachel! Love this post, and some really good choices there – I absolutely LOVED Alex Rider as a kid, and I kinda feel like re-reading the series now that you’ve mentioned it. The dialogue was so good, and the comic book spinoffs were pretty entertaining too!

    And of course JK Rowling gets a free ticket to any countdown like this lol, but Lemony Snicket was SO GOOD, he didn’t care about putting little kids through all those ups and downs (and general horrible things).

    I’d add Garth Nix myself – he’s a fellow Aussie and massive inspiration, and his Keys to the Kingdom series in particular was absolutely amazing! Eoin Colfer would be another pick for me, I ADORED the Artemis Fowl series, one of the series I really remember inspiring me (I used to read the books cover-to-cover almost every month).

    Great post, loving your blog! ^_^

    Like

    1. Heya Brett 🙂 I’m so pleased you liked this post…. I do sometimes wonder what to say each day, but then I get something else out! Oh, Alex Rider how I loved those books. I don’t think there’s been a children’s series like it since. I wish he would go back to them actually, maybe he will, fingers crossed……

      Yes, J.K. does get a free ticket but we love her anyway. Lemony Snicket was fantastic although I haven’t read his recent works yet, again, don’t think I’ll find another series of unfortunate events.

      Oh yeah, I had no idea he was Australian! I actually tried reading some of his books but wasn’t a fan…. I was a bit younger though, maybe I’ll like it more now? 🙂 When I was little, I adored the Eoin Colfer Artemis Fowl books, completely understand with that hahaha…. I didn’t like how he seemed to redeem himself though in future books. I liked how horrible he was at the start of that series.

      Thanks, just added a new post!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, Garth Nix is an Aussie! I’ve been reading his Old Kingdom series, and admittedly, I think his Keys to the Kingdom were slightly better (but I might have some rose-tinted goggles on).

        Funny enough, I liked Artemis’ character progression, because he was trying not to become his father; though the kinda-not-quite-romance between him and Holly was just a bit too awkward for me.

        Thanks for the reply!

        Like

      2. Is that really his name too? It’s such a cool name! I haven’t heard of ‘Keys to the Kingdom’ before….. Oh yeah? I did like Artemis Fowl in the beginning, but I didn’t like the other ones, think I just couldn’t be bothered in the end 😛 hahaha! No probs, sorry I’ve been bad replying lately. It takes a long time both posting and twittering and facebooking and answering blog posts!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Don’t worry, I completely understand – there’s so many social medias to keep track of! :O

        And yep, Garth Nix is really his name. People *always* ask him that apparently. Some people are born with awesome writer names!

        Like

      4. 🙂 hahaha there really are, but it’s such a cool thing to have. It’s so weird to think there was a time when the internet didn’t exist….. *alien music* 😛 Oh god yeah, actually come to think of it, our names sound like authors! I definitely want to be R.E. Brooker on the shelves. As for you, can see you as Brett Michael Orr for sure.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. R.E. Brooker for sure, you’ll make a great author! 😀 And yep, I sure hope to see my name on a shelf one day too!

        Like

Leave a comment